EFA 2021 Newsletter


Follow us on
Dear Members and Friends of the
European Finance Association (EFA)!
Facbook-Button Twitter-Button Linkedin Button

You are invited to submit papers to be considered for presentation at the 49th EFA Annual Meeting in August 2022.

The submission deadline is February 2, 2022 at 9am CET (February 1, 2022 at midnight Standard Pacific Time).

EFA 2022 is organized by IESE Business School in Barcelona and it is scheduled on August 24–27, 2022. We very much hope to be able to have an in person conference this year. We are monitoring the situation and choose the format of the event accordingly. Do not hesitate to submit your work! We will post updates on the conference format at: efa2022.efa-meetings.org.


Paper submission procedure

You can submit papers electronically via the EFA website: efa2022.efa-meetings.org/submission. For the paper to be considered, the submitting author must be a member of the European Finance Association in 2022.

Once submitted, you can update your paper up to the submission deadline. Papers will be reviewed by members of the Program Committee. Authors will be notified about the outcome of the reviewing process by the end of April 2022.

Keynote speaker

Laura Veldkamp, Cooperman Professor of Finance and Economics, Columbia Business School.

Special sessions

EFA 2022 will offer four special sessions organized with institutional partners:

• Banco de España on Corporate creditworthiness after the pandemic
• Bank for International Settlements on Financial stability implications of non-bank financial intermediaries (NBFIs).
• European Central Bank on Central Bank Digital Currency.
• Norges Bank Investment Management on Understanding the long-run drivers of asset prices.

The papers for these special sessions are chosen from the pool of papers submitted to the conference and undergo the same reviewing process. More information on the special sessions is available here.

Doctoral events

The EFA Annual Meeting hosts two one-day events for doctoral students on August 24, 2022. Submission for these events run separately and the application period is from February 15 to March 15, 2022.

We look forward to receiving your submissions!


Xavier Vives

EFA 2022 Program Chair

IESE Business School

Jordi Salvador

EFA 2022 Local Organizing Committee Chair

IESE Business School


Local Scientific Committee

Miguel Antón, IESE Business School
Vladimir Asriyan, Centre de Recerca en Economia Internacional
Mercedes Ayuso, Universitat de Barcelona
José Azar, Universidad de Navarra
Albert Banal-Estañol, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Anna Bayona, ESADE
Vicente Bermejo, ESADE
Christian T Brownlees, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Jordi Caballé, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Ariadna Dumitrescu, ESADE
Christian Eufinger, IESE Business School
Xavier Freixas, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Javier Gil-Bazo, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Mireia Giné, IESE Business School
Javier Gomez Biscarri, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Montserrat Guillen, Universitat de Barcelona
Filippo Ippolito, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Carolina Manzano, Universitat Rovira i Virgili
Gaizka Ormazabal, IESE Business School
Valentina Raponi, IESE Business School
Stefano Sacchetto, IESE Business School
Florina Silaghi, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Victoria Vanasco, Centre de Recerca en Economia Internacional
Carles Vergara, IESE Business School
Carolina Villegas, ESADE


Track Chairs

Sumit Agarwal, National University of Singapore
Thorsten Beck, European University Institute 
Bo Becker, Stockholm School of Economics
Juliane Begenau, Stanford University
Tobias Berg, Frankfurt School of Finance & Management
Bruno Biais, Toulouse School of Economics
Patrick Bolton, Columbia Business School
Anna Cieslak, Duke University
Riccardo Colacito, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Cláudia Custódio, Imperial College London
Hans Degryse, KU Leuven
Isil Erel, The Ohio State University
Lily Fang, INSEAD
Peter Feldhütter, Copenhagen Business School
Thierry Foucault, HEC Paris
Paolo Fulghieri, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Mariassunta Giannetti, Stockholm School of Economics
Stefano Giglio, Yale University
Denis Gromb, HEC Paris
Luigi Guiso, Einaudi Institute for Economics and Finance (EIEF)
Iftekhar Hasan, Fordham University
Zhiguo He, University of Chicago, Booth School of Business
Vasso Ioannidou, Cass Business School
Wei Jiang, Columbia Business School
Marcin Kacperczyk, Imperial College London
Alexander Ljungqvist, Stockholm School of Economics
Michelle Lowry, Drexel University
Annamaria Lusardi, George Washington University School of Business
Robert Marquez, University of California, Davis
Sophie Moinas, Toulouse School of Management & Toulouse School of Economics
Martin Oehmke, London School of Economics
Steven Ongena, University of Zurich
Marco Pagano, University of Naples Federico II
Christine Parlour, Berkeley Haas
Anna Pavlova, London Business School
Jose-Luis Peydro, Imperial College London
Paola Sapienza, Northwestern Kellogg
Lukas Schmid, University of Southern California
Kelly Shue, Yale University
Per Stromberg, Stockholm School of Economics
Melvyn Teo, Singapore Management University
Andrea Vedolin, Boston University
Michela Verardo, London School of Economics
Belen Villalonga, New York University
Annette Vissing Jorgensen, University of California, Berkeley
Lucy White, Questrom School of Business, Boston University
Liyan Yang, University of Toronto
Kathy Yuan, London School of Economics and Political Science



Contact us

For questions regarding paper submission and conference attendance:

EFA 2022 Organizer

E-mail: EFA2022@iese.edu

For questions regarding the EFA and its membership:

European Finance Association

Tel. +32 485 729 359  

E-mail: info@european-finance.org


REVIEW OF FINANCE: Journal of the European Finance Association

Event Partners:
Banco de España Bank for International Settlements European Central Bank Norges Bank
Review of Finance





EFA News