EFA 2021 Newsletter – Call for Registration


Follow us on
Registration - Preliminary Program – Travel Grants Facbook-Button Twitter-Button Linkedin Button

We are pleased to announce that the 49th EFA Annual Meeting will take place in person at the IESE Business School Campus in Barcelona (Spain) from Wednesday, August 24, to Saturday, August 27. We hope that you will join us in Barcelona!

Registration – early bird fees

The registration to the conference is open and we would like to encourage you to take advantage of the early-bird registration rates available until June 30, 2022. Note that the EFA Annual Meeting is a member-only conference and each participant can purchase their membership prior to registering to the conference.

• Academic: 250 €
• PhD Student: 100 €
• Practitioner: 400 €
• EFA membership for 2022: 60 €


If you wish to have a preview of the papers which will be presented at the EFA 2022, use the following link: conftool.com/efa2022/sessions.php.


Travel Grants

We are delighted to announce that EFA will award travel grants to selected PhD Students attending the EFA Annual Meeting in 2022. The purpose of this grant is to support PhD Students by enhancing their opportunities to advance their research and their career. These grants will be granted annually for the next five years (2022–2026).

PhD Students can send their application via the conference management system before the deadline of  Friday June 22, 2022, midnight Pacific time.


  • Applicants should be PhD students in finance, financial economics, or a related field and
    • be beyond the second year of their doctoral studies (e.g., starting 3rd year in September 2022)
    • be members of the European Finance Association (EFA) in 2022
    • provide the name of their supervisor, his/her CV, and a statement confirming they are enrolled in a PhD program
  • Preference will be given to students going on the job market in the coming academic year (2022-2023).
  • Students do not need to have a paper in the program to be eligible.
  • Students accepted to the Doctoral Tutorial are not eligible to receive this grant.
  • The amount of the Grant awarded to each successful applicant will be determined by the number of applications.
  • No student may receive the EFA Annual Meeting Travel Grant more than once.

Link for Travel Grant application: here.

Planning your trip

We have secured rooms in hotels and the residences halls located around the campus. We only have a limited number of rooms and they will be allocated on a first-come, first-serve basis. We are sorry that we cannot accommodate all participants' requests.

Check out hotels and fees on our website: efa2022.efa-meetings.org.

We look forward to welcoming you in Barcelona at the IESE Business School Campus. 


Xavier Vives

EFA 2022 Program Chair

IESE Business School


Local Scientific Committee

Miguel Antón, IESE Business School
Vladimir Asriyan, Centre de Recerca en Economia Internacional
Mercedes Ayuso, Universitat de Barcelona
José Azar, Universidad de Navarra
Albert Banal-Estañol, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Anna Bayona, ESADE
Vicente Bermejo, ESADE
Christian T Brownlees, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Jordi Caballé, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Ariadna Dumitrescu, ESADE
Christian Eufinger, IESE Business School
Xavier Freixas, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Javier Gil-Bazo, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Mireia Giné, IESE Business School
Javier Gomez Biscarri, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Montserrat Guillen, Universitat de Barcelona
Filippo Ippolito, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Carolina Manzano, Universitat Rovira i Virgili
Gaizka Ormazabal, IESE Business School
Valentina Raponi, IESE Business School
Stefano Sacchetto, IESE Business School
Florina Silaghi, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Victoria Vanasco, Centre de Recerca en Economia Internacional
Carles Vergara, IESE Business School
Carolina Villegas, ESADE


Track Chairs

Sumit Agarwal, National University of Singapore
Thorsten Beck, European University Institute
Bo Becker, Stockholm School of Economics
Juliane Begenau, Stanford University
Tobias Berg, Frankfurt School of Finance & Management
Bruno Biais, Toulouse School of Economics
Patrick Bolton, Columbia Business School
Anna Cieslak, Duke University
Riccardo Colacito, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Cláudia Custódio, Imperial College London
Hans Degryse, KU Leuven
Isil Erel, The Ohio State University
Lily Fang, INSEAD
Peter Feldhütter, Copenhagen Business School
Thierry Foucault, HEC Paris
Paolo Fulghieri, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Mariassunta Giannetti, Stockholm School of Economics
Stefano Giglio, Yale University
Denis Gromb, HEC Paris
Luigi Guiso, Einaudi Institute for Economics and Finance (EIEF)
Iftekhar Hasan, Fordham University
Zhiguo He, University of Chicago, Booth School of Business
Vasso Ioannidou, Bayes Business School
Wei Jiang, Columbia Business School
Marcin Kacperczyk, Imperial College London
Alexander Ljungqvist, Stockholm School of Economics
Michelle Lowry, Drexel University
Annamaria Lusardi, George Washington University School of Business
Robert Marquez, University of California, Davis
Sophie Moinas, Toulouse School of Management & Toulouse School of Economics
Martin Oehmke, London School of Economics
Steven Ongena, University of Zurich
Marco Pagano, University of Naples Federico II
Christine Parlour, Berkeley Haas
Anna Pavlova, London Business School
Jose-Luis Peydro, Imperial College London
Paola Sapienza, Northwestern Kellogg
Lukas Schmid, University of Southern California
Kelly Shue, Yale University
Per Stromberg, Stockholm School of Economics
Melvyn Teo, Singapore Management University
Andrea Vedolin, Boston University
Michela Verardo, London School of Economics
Belen Villalonga, New York University
Annette Vissing Jorgensen, University of California, Berkeley
Lucy White, Questrom School of Business, Boston University
Liyan Yang, University of Toronto
Kathy Yuan, London School of Economics and Political Science



Contact us

For questions regarding paper submission and conference attendance:

EFA 2022 Organizer

E-mail: EFA2022@iese.edu

For questions regarding the EFA and its membership:

European Finance Association

Tel. +32 485 729 359

E-mail: info@european-finance.org


REVIEW OF FINANCE: Journal of the European Finance Association

Event Partners:
Banco de España Bank for International Settlements European Central Bank  
Norges Bank Grupo Catalana Occidente The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania  
Review of Finance





EFA News