EFA 2023 Newsletter



Call for Papers


Dear Members and Friends of the European Finance Association!

You are invited to submit papers to be considered for presentation at the 50th

EFA Annual Meeting to be held at the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (Netherlands),

August 16–19 August, 2023.

The submission deadline is Wednesday February 1, 2023 (midnight Standard Pacific Time).

Paper submission procedure

You can submit papers electronically via the EFA website: efa2023.efa-meetings.org/submission.

For the paper to be considered, the submitting author must be a member of the European Finance Association in 2023.

Once submitted, you can update your paper up to the submission deadline. Papers will be reviewed by members of the Program Committee. The authors will be notified about the outcome of the reviewing process by the end of April 2023.

Keynote speaker

Antoinette Schoar, Stewart C. Myers-Horn Family Professor of Finance, MIT Sloan School of Management and Editor of the Journal of Finance.

Nobel Laureates Panel

To celebrate the semi-centennial edition, we are honored to have Nobel laurates with us who will discuss the next 50 years of financial economics. The panel consists of:

• Douglas Diamond (University of Chicago, invited)
• Oliver Hart (Harvard University, confirmed)
• Bengt Robert Holmström (MIT, confirmed)

Special sessions

EFA 2023 will offer three special sessions organized with institutional partners:

• Bank for International Settlements on Digital assets and the future of finance.
• European Central Bank on The risks of soaring inflation and policy rate hikes.
• Norges Bank Investment Management on Understanding the long-run drivers of asset prices.

The papers for these special sessions are chosen from the pool of papers submitted to the conference and undergo the same reviewing process. More information on the special sessions is available here.

Doctoral Tutorial

The EFA Annual Meeting will host the Doctoral Tutorial on Wednesday August 16, 2023. Submission for this event runs separately and the application period is from February 15 to March 15, 2023.

We look forward to receiving your submissions!


Albert J. Menkveld

EFA 2023 Program Chair

Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam


Track Chairs

Sumit Agarwal, National University of Singapore
Thorsten Beck, European University Institute
Bo Becker, Stockholm School of Economics
Juliane Begenau, Stanford
Tobias Berg, Frankfurt School of Finance and Management gGmbH
Riccardo Colacito, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Claudia Custodio, Imperial College Business School
Hans Degryse, KU Leuven
Isil Erel, The Ohio State University
Peter Feldhütter, Copenhagen Business School
Thierry Foucault, HEC, Paris
Paolo Fulghieri, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
Mariassunta Giannetti, Stockholm School of Economics
Zhiguo He, University of Chicago
Vasso Ioannidou, Cass Business School
Wei Jiang, Columbia Business School
Marcin Kacperczyk, Imperial College London
Bige Kahraman Alper, University of Oxford
Roman Krauessl, University of Luxembourg
Alexander Ljungqvist, Stockholm School of Economics
Michelle Lowry, Drexel University
Annamaria Lusardi, The George Washington University School of Business
Nadya Malenko, Ross School of Business University of Michigan
Sophie Moinas, Toulouse School of Economics
Martin Oehmke, London School of Economics
Steven Ongena, University of Zurich
Marco Pagano, Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II
Christine Parlour, UC Berkeley
Anna Pavlova, London Business School
Jose-Luis Peydro, Imperial College London
Paola Sapienza, Northwestern Kellogg
Lukas Schmid, University of Southern California
Norman Schuerhoff, SFI at University of Lausanne
Per J Strömberg, Stockholm School of Economics
Melvyn Teo, Singapore Management University
Neeltje van Hooren, Bank of England
Andrea Vedolin, Boston University
Patrick  Verwijmeren, Erasmus University Rotterdam
Annette Vissing-Jorgensen, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve
Liyan Yang, University of Toronto
Kathy Yuan, London School of Economics and Political Science


Local Scientific Committee

Aleksandar Andonov, University of Amsterdam
Stefan Arping, University of Amsterdam
Tanja Artiga González, VU Amsterdam
Lieven Baele, Tilburg University
Wilko Bolt, VU Amsterdam
Dion Bongaerts, Erasmus Rotterdam
Martijn Boons, Tilburg University
Charles Bos, VU Amsterdam
Marieke Bos, VU Amsterdam
Fabio Braggion, Tilburg University
Tolga Caskurlu, University of Amsterdam
Stefano Cassella, Tilburg University
Fabio Castiglionesi, Tilburg University
Mathijs Cosemans, Erasmus Rotterdam
Julio Crego, Tilburg University
Marco Da Rin, Tilburg University
Frank de Jong, Tilburg University
Olivier De Jonghe, Tilburg University
Frans de Roon, Tilburg University
Martijn de Vries, VU Amsterdam
Mark Dijkstra, VU Amsterdam
Robin Döttling, Erasmus Rotterdam
Joost Driessen, Tilburg University
Esther Eiling, University of Amsterdam
Logan Emery, Erasmus Rotterdam
Rik Frehen, Tilburg University
Jasmin Gider, Tilburg University
Li He, Erasmus Rotterdam
Joop Huij, Erasmus Rotterdam
Alexey Ivashchenko, VU Amsterdam
Torsten Jochem, University of Amsterdam
Gazi Kabaş, Tilburg University
Egle Karmaziene, VU Amsterdam
Joren Koëter, Erasmus Rotterdam
Jens Kværner, Tilburg University
Tomislav Ladika, University of Amsterdam
Adrian Lam, University of Amsterdam
Thomas Lambert, Erasmus Rotterdam
Mancy Luo, Erasmus Rotterdam
Laura Marcela Capera-Romero, VU Amsterdam
Jens Martin, University of Amsterdam
Bertrand Melenberg, Tilburg University
Daniel Metzger, Erasmus Rotterdam
Mikael Paaso, Erasmus Rotterdam
Alessio Pacces, University of Amsterdam
Nicola Pavanini, Tilburg University
Elisa Pazaj, University of Amsterdam
Florian Peters, University of Amsterdam
Vincenzo Pezone, Tilburg University
Anjana Rajamani, Erasmus Rotterdam
Luc Renneboog, Tilburg University
Magdalena Rola-Janicka, Tilburg University
Peter Roosenboom, Erasmus Rotterdam
Claus Schmitt, Erasmus Rotterdam
Dirk Schoenmaker, Erasmus Rotterdam
Norman Seeger, VU Amsterdam
Arjen Siegmann, VU Amsterdam
Paul Smeets, University of Amsterdam
Philip Stork, VU Amsterdam
Marta Szymanowska, Erasmus Rotterdam
Lena Tonzer, VU Amsterdam
Gunseli Tumer-Alkan, VU Amsterdam
Martijn van den Assem, VU Amsterdam
Mathijs van Dijk, Erasmus Rotterdam
Iman van Lelyveld, VU Amsterdam
Maarten van Oordt, VU Amsterdam
Marno Verbeek, Erasmus Rotterdam
Willem Verschoor, VU Amsterdam
Vladimir Vladimirov, University of Amsterdam
Wolf Wagner, Erasmus Rotterdam
Yenan Wang, University of Amsterdam
Rex Wang, VU Amsterdam
Xuan Wang, VU Amsterdam
Ole Wilms, Tilburg University
Leonard Wolk, VU Amsterdam
Jan Wrampelmeyer, VU Amsterdam
Guosong Xu, Erasmus Rotterdam
Xiaoyu Zhang, VU Amsterdam
Xingchen Zhu, VU Amsterdam
Remco Zwinkels, VU Amsterdam


Contact us

For questions regarding paper submission and conference attendance:

EFA 2023 Organizer

E-mail: EFA2023@groups.vu.nl

For questions regarding the EFA and its membership:

European Finance Association

Tel. +32 2 226 66 60

E-mail: info@european-finance.org


REVIEW OF FINANCE: Journal of the European Finance Association

Event Partners:
The Dutch Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM Bank for International Settlements BlackRock  
De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) Eurex European Central Bank
Norges Bank Optiver The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania  
Review of Finance




European Finance Association
Executive Secretary 
Rue Fossé aux Loups, 38, 1000 Brussels, Belgium 
Website: www.european-finance.org 
You can check & update your profile on the EFA or the EIASM website: http://www.eiasm.org
If you no longer wish to receive e-mailings from EFA, click send an email to info@european-finance.org.


EFA News