EFA Governance

The European Finance Association (EFA) is a registered international non-profit organization with scientific and educational objectives, governed by the dispositions of Title III of the Belgian law of 27 June 1921 pertaining to non-profit organizations, international non-profit organizations, and foundations, as published in the Annexes of the official public registry organ: Le Moniteur belge.

The aim of the Association is to provide a professional association to academics and practitioners interested in the fields of finance and economics and its applications, with the purpose of supporting, disseminating and stimulating high quality research in the field in Europe. In particular. the association shall serve as a meeting and communication forum for its members resident in Europe and elsewhere. It will offer a network for the exchange of knowledge on an international level and provide a framework allowing for a better dissemination of information on research and teaching in finance and economics. 

Executive Committee

The Association is administered by an Executive Committee of 12-18 members which includes the President, Vice-President, the Editor of the Journal of the Association, the Executive Secretary, the Chairperson plus 9 Directors elected at large by the General Assembly. (These Officers and Directors are members of the board and 'administrators' of the AISBL according to Belgian law.)  Elections for 3 Directors take place every October for a 3 year term starting the following January.  

» Click here to find out who is currently on the Executive Committee 

» Click here for a list of current and previous Presidents and Chairpersons

General Assembly

The General Assembly holds full authority and decision power to take all the actions needed to achieve the objectives of the Association. The General Assembly of the members of the Association is held annually on a date and at a venue determined by the Executive Committee. 

» Click here for more information about recent General Assemblies

Executive Secretary

The EFA Executive Secretary is based in Brussels. The EFA Secretariat (the Association's headquarters) is located at: 2nd floor Passage du Nord 19, 1000 Brussels, Belgium – in the offices of the European Institute for Advanced Studies in Management (EIASM)

» Click here to see contact details for the Executive Secretary


To read the complete text and Articles of the latest version, download the EFA Statutes [362 KB].

The proposed modifications to the EFA Statutes (ratified at the 2009 EFA General Assembly) were filed with a notary public in Brussels in February 2010. The EFA Statutes are officially published in Le Moniteur Belge and have been in effect since 31 May 2010.

Registered address, company number and VAT number

The European Finance Association (EFA) is an international non-profit organization (INPO / AISBL / IVZW) registered in Belgium at the following address: European Finance Association, Passage du Nord 19, 1000 Brussels, Belgium.

The Company Number is RPM/RPR 0864.639.588. 

The VAT number is BE 0864.639.588. 

The EFA bank account is with KBC Bank; the account number is IBAN: BE40 4245 5333 1163; SWIFT code: KREDBEBB.

EFA News

» Follow EFA on social media: