Our General Assembly will be held on Friday August 27, 2022 in person in Barcelona.

European Finance Association's mission is to foster a professional society for Finance academics, practitioners, and doctoral students interested in research areas such as financial management and financial theory along with their applications. » read more


Members of the European Finance Association (EFA) are part of a global network of more than 2,500 professionals involved in the high-level research, study, teaching and practice of Finance.

Members may submit a paper to the conference EFA Annual Meeting and receive free online access  to the Review of Finance.  The General Assembly is held during the Annual Meeting.

» Why join EFA  

» To join EFA

Review of Finance

The Review of Finance (RF) is a peer-reviewed journal that competes for the best articles in the field of finance and aims at a wide circulation and visibility in the profession. The journal’s editorial policy is guided by two criteria: quality and innovation.


Check-out The Review of Finance website for more information. http://revfin.org/ 



» More about the RF

» Quick link to current issue

Doctoral Events

EFA holds two EFA Doctoral Eventprior to the EFA Annual Meeting for PhD students in Finance: a tutorial and a workshop.  Submission and applications are invited between February 15 and March 15.


The Tutorial is an intensive and competitive session and only the top eight submissions per year are accepted.  The Workshop on a is held in parallel - 2022 theme is Fintech and Cryptocurrency.

» More info on the EFA-DT

EFA 2022 49th Annual Meeting Barcelona 

European Finance Association 49th Annual Meeting IESE Barcelona August 25-27

EFA 2022 is organized by IESE Business School in Barcelona and will be held in person on August 24–27, 2022.  We will post any changes to the conference format at: efa2022.efa-meetings.org.  Notifications have been sent out to accepted authors. Registration will open soon and the program will be published online in early June.

Conference keynote speaker

Laura Veldkamp, Cooperman Professor of Finance and Economics, Columbia Business School.

Special sessions and Partners

EFA 2021 will offer five special sessions organized with institutional partners:

The papers for these special sessions are chosen from the pool of papers submitted to the conference and undergo the same reviewing process. More information on the special sessions is available here.

Doctoral events

The EFA Annual Meeting hosts two one-day events for doctoral students in finance on Wednesday August 24, 2022.  Eight PhD students have been selected to participate in the Doctoral Tutorial.  The Doctoral Workshop will be on FinTech, blockchain and cryptocurrency.

Xavier Vives

EFA 2022 Program Chair, IESE Business School

Local Scientific Committee

Miguel Antón, IESE Business School
Vladimir Asriyan, Centre de Recerca en Economia Internacional
Mercedes Ayuso, Universitat de Barcelona
José Azar, Universidad de Navarra
Albert Banal-Estañol, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Anna Bayona, ESADE
Vicente Bermejo, ESADE
Christian T Brownlees, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Jordi Caballé, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Ariadna Dumitrescu, ESADE
Christian Eufinger, IESE Business School
Xavier Freixas, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Javier Gil-Bazo, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Mireia Giné, IESE Business School
Javier Gomez Biscarri, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Montserrat Guillen, Universitat de Barcelona
Filippo Ippolito, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Carolina Manzano, Universitat Rovira i Virgili
Gaizka Ormazabal, IESE Business School
Valentina Raponi, IESE Business School
Stefano Sacchetto, IESE Business School
Florina Silaghi, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Victoria Vanasco, Centre de Recerca en Economia Internacional
Carles Vergara, IESE Business School
Carolina Villegas, ESADE


Track Chairs

Sumit Agarwal, National University of Singapore
Thorsten Beck, Bayes Business School
Bo Becker, Stockholm School of Economics
Juliane Begenau, Stanford University
Tobias Berg, Frankfurt School of Finance & Management
Bruno Biais, Toulouse School of Economics
Patrick Bolton, Columbia Business School
Anna Cieslak, Duke University
Riccardo Colacito, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Cláudia Custódio, Imperial College London
Hans Degryse, KU Leuven
Isil Erel, The Ohio State University
Lily Fang, INSEAD
Peter Feldhütter, Copenhagen Business School
Thierry Foucault, HEC Paris
Paolo Fulghieri, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Mariassunta Giannetti, Stockholm School of Economics
Stefano Giglio, Yale University
Denis Gromb, HEC Paris
Luigi Guiso, Einaudi Institute for Economics and Finance (EIEF)
Iftekhar Hasan, Fordham University
Zhiguo He, University of Chicago, Booth School of Business
Vasso Ioannidou, Cass Business School
Wei Jiang, Columbia Business School
Marcin Kacperczyk, Imperial College London
Alexander Ljungqvist, Stockholm School of Economics
Michelle Lowry, Drexel University
Annamaria Lusardi, George Washington University School of Business
Robert Marquez, University of California, Davis
Sophie Moinas, Toulouse School of Management & Toulouse School of Economics
Martin Oehmke, London School of Economics
Steven Ongena, University of Zurich
Marco Pagano, University of Naples Federico II
Christine Parlour, Berkeley Haas
Anna Pavlova, London Business School
Jose-Luis Peydro, Imperial College London
Paola Sapienza, Northwestern Kellogg
Lukas Schmid, University of Southern California
Kelly Shue, Yale University
Per Stromberg, Stockholm School of Economics
Melvyn Teo, Singapore Management University
Andrea Vedolin, Boston University
Michela Verardo, London School of Economics
Belen Villalonga, New York University
Annette Vissing Jorgensen, University of California, Berkeley
Lucy White, Questrom School of Business, Boston University
Liyan Yang, University of Toronto
Kathy Yuan, London School of Economics and Political Science


Contact us

For questions regarding paper submission and conference attendance:
EFA 2022 Organizer

E-mail: EFA2022@iese.edu

For questions regarding the EFA and its membership:
European Finance Association
Tel. +32 485 729 359

E-mail: info@european-finance.org

Please keep in touch via Twitter  and LinkedIn  and look forward to seeing you at #EFA2022 with IESE in Barcelona in August 2022.

EFA News